top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvy

Winter/Autumn Backpacking Tips for Maarte Backpacker

Updated: Jul 21, 2020


Wondering how to travel light using your backpack during cold weather; winter or autumn without sacrificing being maarte? Here's how.


My love for traveling/backpacking is always been my priority and my passion. However, people always thought that when you travel, it is expensive. But to be honest you can travel inexpensively by doing backpacking. Backpacking is a form of low-cost, independent travel. It includes the use of public transport, inexpensive lodging such as hostels; often a longer duration of the trip when compared with conventional vacations; and typically an interest in meeting locals as well as seeing sights.


Despite being Maarte (fussy/particular/picky) who would have thought that I can manage to backpack even solo and travel light. I am not a high maintenance type of girl but a little biiiitttt of extra so I need a lot of stuff when I travel like makeup, toiletries, skincare, a few fashionable clothes for OOTD. ya know!


So Here are my TIPS how I pack my stuff despite of being MAARTE on backpacking journey and how I travel light.

1. First, Invest in a high quality of Backpack.

  • I have invested in Osprey 55 L Fairview and Osprey Porter 30L - this is the number 1 backpack for world traveler according to some research which is basically google haha but also to backpacker groups, I joined with. Please click each for the full details of the backpack.

  • I'm always gonna be a backpack girl no matter what. I don't fancy any luxury shoulder bags or any lady bags or expensive luggage (tho in traveling, you need to make sure you have a high quality of both Luggage and Backpack - its a must). However, I always go for a backpack because I am more convenient with it. So when I travel, regardless if its any season, I always go for backpacking. So I have invested in a very high quality of the backpack. Any osprey backpack is really pretty good. I have osprey 55 L Fairview and Osprey 30 L Porter. Unlike a normal backpack, this backpack is a luggage type one reason why I'm very much in love with it. It's easy to open. I have traveled with a backpack all around Europe 13 European countries during the fall and winter season, so it's proven and tested. it's just pricey but it's very worth it.


Osprey Fairview 55L


Osprey Porter 30L


2. Always use Travel size for everything

  • Travel size makeups, toiletries, make up brush, etc that way you can have more space to almost everything. As for me, I buy my travel kits from Daiso or DIY. It doesn't have to be expensive besides you can buy disposable. You can buy anything in travel size in Daiso or DIY very cheap.

  • I bought my makeup brush from Lazada



3. Use the Travel Cubes

  • It will help you to organize your things, these cubes can be used for luggage and backpack. I bought mine from Lazada.


4. Buy lightweight winter clothes/jackets

  • As for me, whenever I do backpacking, I always buy super light clothes. We all know when its winter, we always thought that the heavier your clothes are the warmer. Actually it's not, it depends on the fabric of your clothes.

  • I buy the fleece type of leggings and tops. It's lighter and warmer. Also, you can never go wrong with layering.

  • for a lightweight jacket, you can buy it from Uniqlo or Bershka. It's not as expensive as Zara or north face or other expensive brands.

  • I bought a compact down jacket and leather fleece pants from Ezbuy, a lightweight fleece turtle neck from Uniqlo.


Lightweight fold-able down jacket



Lightweight fleece turtle neck tops and sweater


Lightweight fleece leather pants


5. Buy fold-able/ultra-compact lightweight backpack

  • Just in case you needed an extra backpack, an Extra lightweight fold-able backpack is very helpful. For instance, you have bought some stuff and it doesn't fit into your main backpack anymore you can always use this fold-able backpack for emergency purposes. When I travel within Asia, I always bring my 30 L backpack enough to fit in my clothes and others. However if I bought souvenirs and stuff, the lightweight backpack is my savior.

  • I bought mine from Decathlon and Lazada.


6. Use fold-able pillow

  • Again, lightweight for everything, you can never go wrong. Why bring heavy things if you can have light and fold-able items?

  • I bought mine from Ezbuy


7. Use Light and Comfy winter shoes

  • It doesn't have to be expensive and it's not mandatory to buy winter shoes as well. As mentioned, this applies when you travel during winter. I bought Doc Martens Boots via amazon, these boots are really good for winter however is this heavy, and I wouldn't recommend these shoes if you want to do a long walk. I have walked using these boots for 22 KM a day and I ended up hurting my feet after.

Doc Martens boots (Not recommended for a long walk but good for SNOW)

Unbranded (Comfy Boots and not so heavy)


Comfy sneakers (good for walking - Adidas stan smith and Vans classic)


8. Bring more socks

  • You can bring 2 pairs of shoes but more socks. As its winter your feet will tend to be wrapped and compressed for the rest of the day and if you are staying in a hostel you won't be able to wash and dry your clothes overnight.

  • Wool and fleece socks are recommended.

  • I bought my socks from Daiso or Lazada.


9. Know how to fold your clothes properly

  • Fold your clothes as tiny as you can. Because you need SPACE in your backpack for your essentials.

  • I guess I'm too much of a fan of Marie Kondo because I'm quite a folder. lol


Hope my tips help you with your backpacking journey. These tips were all effective for me and for my backpacking life. If you have more tips for cheap travel, please do share on the comments below. I am still learning every day too. Greatly appreciated your comments. Thank you for reading.


disclaimer: some product photos are not mine.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page