top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvy

8 Days Winter Backpacking in Europe (3rd time - 60k Php ALL-IN)

Updated: Jul 18, 2020


Paris-Amsterdam-Rome-Vatican-Bucharest-Brasov-Transylvania   

So, I only have like 8 days for Europe as I didn't have enough holidays anymore. As much as I wanted to travel more to Europe, I already maxed out my Annual Leaves. For the 8 days I had, I tried to cram travel which I know I am good at it however it's exhausting.


Cram travel - is fast travel. It can be quite exhausting as trying to cram countries into a couple of weeks. Since l don’t have a lot of time off work or holidays, I tend to cram travel whenever I am in Europe. If you are not energetic, lazy, chiller, or wanting to get rest between your travels, you get easily burnt out this is not for you. Because cram travel is constantly on the move no rest at all. You can even fall asleep in one country and wake up in another.


This time, I traveled with a friend- Merci. Since she had more holidays than I was. She arrived in Paris 4 days earlier. As a cram traveler, you cannot be tired of being tired will not be in your option because you're always on the go. Exhausting means Traveling. So I am gonna share the awesome 8 days of my EU trip for the 3rd time.


This was my 3rd time I backpacked Europe, I feel like I get to hang of traveling from one country to another. It's amazing how you can travel for like 3 hrs by bus from one country to another this is why I love Europe because countries are so close to each other.











Itinerary of 8 Days Backpacking in Europe


Paris, France

Day 1

  • Landed in Paris, France.

  • You, guys, might think why, Paris again?

  • I was here in December 2017. And I never liked Paris. Okay, the answer was because flying to Paris was the cheapest flight you can always have when you are flying from Kuala Lumpur.

  • I'm not sure with other countries tho. But this was proven and tested by me as I travel very often to the EU. So on my 1 Night in Paris, rest means nothing to me. I met my friend Merci in Bercy, Paris, we headed straight to meet some French friends in Trocadero. They brought us to Bastille, where we went to the Mediterranean Restaurant. Merci Mes Amis!

  • Before that, we still had time to roam around Eiffel tower, Trocadero, and Arc de Triomphe. I mean its February its the coldest time in Europe so being 1 night in Paris, you should not miss the Eiffel Tower regardless of how cold the night was.

  • So I made sure before headed to Amsterdam the next day, Eiffel Tower photo at night is a must. I was tired from 18 hr flight but who cares again I'm the lets-rest-later.



Things TO-SEE in Paris, France


Eiffel Tower and Trocadero


Arc de Triomphe


Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Day 2

  • The next day we traveled from Paris to Amsterdam via Flixbus for 7 hours. Since I wasn't able to rest from the long flight, I just rested on the bus.

  • Arrived in Amsterdam, We checked in to Best Western Hotel, which was close to the Amsterdam Airport, as we need to fly to Rome, Italy next morning.

  • Again cram travel so, we are staying overnight in Amsterdam just to see Red District, which my Merci missed to see the last time she went to Amsterdam.




Rome, Italy - Vatican

Day 3 - 5

  • Flew to Rome, Italy the next morning.

  • It's our first-time visit to Rome. What I love about Italy is food obviously like who doesn't want Italian food. I think it's one of the best food in the world. Like you can easily buy a big slice of Pizza for just 3 € just around the corner of Rome.

  • Arrived in Rome, as usual, we went straight to dinner with another Italian friend. Traveling is about meeting locals so take advantage. He brought us to an Authentic Italian Restaurant which served amazing Pasta, was really good pasta not gonna lie. After dinner, he brought us to Trevi Fountain and ate some Gelato on the side.

  • Next Day, we roamed around Rome.

  • Visited Colosseum took some photos from outside. And remember, we are backpacking We tend not to pay for any entrance fees. I didn't think I missed going inside Colosseum, Although would be nice going inside and see the Colosseum however not my priority.

  • After Colosseum, headed to the Vatican where we walked from Colosseum To Vatican for like 1 Hour - it was surreal walk while winter. We enjoyed walking, I love walking so 2 hr or even 4 hours walk would be just easy for me. Luckily, Merci was okay with it as well. The Vatican was amazing from the outside as well.

  • After the whole day of roaming around Rome,

  • We met Fabio again - my Italian friend - he brought us to Authentic Pizza Restaurant and introduced us to some Italian snacks as well. It's really amazing meeting local people as you get to expose to a lot of things especially with the authenticity of the country you are visiting. Grazie Fabio!


Bucharest - Brasov - Transylvania, Romania

Day 6-8

  • Flew to Bucharest, Romania next day

  • From this travel, this was my favorite country and probably one of my fave countries so far.

  • When I arrived in Bucharest I didn't expect that I would be the only Asian traveling during that time. As usual, I have friends all over the world. I met a Romanian friend there, we traveled to Brasov from Bucharest. Took the train to Brasov for like 2 hrs.

  • It was surreal when we are arriving at Brasov, it was snowing perfectly. I couldn't contain my heart and my excitement was so high I have never seen snow falling from the sky I fell in love instantly with Brasov. My heart was beating so I couldn't keep my eyes off the place, the snow was everything.

  • I wasn't bothered with the cold, in fact, I'd loved it. My heart was stunned by Brasov, it was beautiful.

  • Next Day, we visited Bran Castle also known as Dracula Castle. We spent the whole day visiting the castle. The castle is Huge. It is located just outside Brasov, its on the border of Transylvania.

  • At night we headed back to Bucharest - 2-3 hrs by car.


Day 9

- Headed back to Paris spent a night in Paris before heading back to Kuala Lumpur.



BREAKDOWN OF EXPENSES


Hotels/Airbnb

Paris - Bercy, France Kyriad Paris Bercy Village- 2756 php/ 50 for 1 day / 2 (split with Merci) Total: 25 € / 1376 php Amsterdam, The Netherlands Best Western Plus Amsterdam Airport Hotel - 3586 PHP/ 65 € for 1 day (split) Total: 32.5 € / 1789 php Rome, Italy Dem Guest House - 3454 php/63 € for 2 days (split) Total: 31.5 € /1734 php Brasov, Romania Pension Casa Medievala 3833 php/ 69 for 3 days(split) Total: 34.5 € /1899 php


Flight fare

Airfare via Saudia from Kuala Lumpur to Paris CDG: 499 €/ 27, 548 PHP Feb 8 - Arrival in Paris 8:30 AM CDG Feb 9 - 10 - traveling to Amsterdam via flixbus Sat, Feb 09 06:15 – 13:45 PM from Paris, Quai de Bercy to Amsterdam, Sloterdijk Flixbus - 7h30 • €14.99/ 825 PHP Feb 10 -12 - traveling to Rome via Easyjet Sun, Feb 10 09:15 – 11:35 AM from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol (AMS) to Rome Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino Airport (FCO) Easyjet : 2h20 • €56.70/ 3122 PHP Feb 12 to 15 - traveling to Bucharest via Ryanair Tue, Feb 12 06:30 – 09:35 PM from Rome Ciampino Airport (CIA) to Bucharest Henri Coanda International Airport (OTP) Ryanair: 2h05 • €12.99/ 715 PHP Flixbus: 5€/ 275 PHP (going to the Rome Airport) Feb 15 - traveling to Paris via Wizzair Fri, Feb 15 06:05 – 08:25 AM 1 hr bus to - CDG airport Bucharest Henri Coanda International Airport (OTP) to Paris Beauvais Tille Airport (BVA) Wizzair : 3h20 •€53.78/ 2962 PHP International Simcard -UK & Europe (60 Countries) Three 12GB Travel Prepaid Plan bought it from Hello101 (Twin Pack) - 12 552 php / 22 € (split with merci) = 11 € /605 php


Total expense

  • 776.96 € ( Hotels, flights, Simcard) + 300 € (pocket money includes local train, food, buying souvenirs, etc)

- 1076 € / 59, 286 php



132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page